Skip navigation

LRA Board

Marie Mallon

Marie Mallon was appointed to the Chair of the Labour Relations Agency with effect from 1 August 2014 following her retirement from the post of Deputy Chief Executive/Director of HR in the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust. Prior to this Marie held many senior posts within Health and Social Care and was a member of the Industrial and Fair Employment Tribunals for 15 years. She is currently an independent member on the Board of Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure (DCAL) and is an associate of Health and Social Care Leadership Centre.

Sally McKee

Mrs McKee is currently Honorary Secretary of the Disability Committee of NIC-ICTU and on the Board of Governors of Lakewood Special School and Vice-Chairperson of Glenlola Collegiate School. Mrs McKee was Chairperson of the General Teaching Council NI (GTCNI) 2006-10 and is a past President of the Ulster Teachers’ Union and was a Board Member of the South Eastern Education and Library Board from 2004-06. Mrs McKee holds no other public appointments.

Gordon Parkes

Mr Parkes is HR Director of Northern Ireland Electricity Limited, the electricity networks company owned by ESB and is currently a member of the Employment Affairs Committee CBI (NI) and a member of the Careers, Education, Information, Advice and Guidance Steering group. Previously Mr. Parkes has held the position of Director or Head of Human Resources in a number of companies in the pharmaceutical, textile and engineering sectors and prior to his current role was General Manager Group Human Resources of the Viridian Group Limited. He was Chairman of the NI Textiles and Clothing Training Council from 1998-2001. Mr Parkes holds no other public appointments.


Ms Alison Millar is the Deputy General Secretary of the Northern Ireland Public Service Alliance (NIPSA), the largest trade union in Northern Ireland with over 46,000 members employed across the civil and public services. Ms Millar has overall responsibility for the Public Officers’ Group and for major policy issues including the Review of Public Administration.  She takes particular responsibility for major policy issues in the Health Service and Housing Executive. Ms Millar has held previous appointments as NIPSA’s Assistant Secretary with negotiating responsibility for the Education and Library Boards, Further Education Colleges and District Councils.


Since 2001, Mr McMichael has been the Director and Chief Officer of the Northern Ireland charity ASCERT (Action on Substances through Community Education and Related Training).  He is Co-Chair of Belfast Drug and Alcohol Co-ordination Team.  Since 2010, he has been a voluntary Board Member of the Voice of Young People in Care, providing strategic direction and governance to the charity.  Prior to that, he was an elected Member of Lisburn City Council from 1993 to 2005, a voluntary Board Member of SALTA Services, Chair of the Lisburn Community Network, and a Trustee of the Northern Ireland Fund for Reconciliation.  From 1999 to 2002 he was an OFMdFM appointee to the NI Civic Forum.

Pauline Shepherd

Ms Shepherd is currently the interim Chief Executive with Extern, a large all-Ireland charity working directly with people affected by social exclusion. From 2005 to 2011, Ms Shepherd was the Human Resource Director for NI Water with responsibility for developing and implementing the company HR strategy. Ms Shepherd’s previous employment includes over 30 years work in the public sector. Ms Shepherd is currently an employer member of the Industrial Court.

Albert Mills

Mr Mills is a trade unionist. From 2006, he was Chairman of the Amalgamated Transport and General Workers Union (ATGWU) Officers Negotiating Committee for Great Britain and Ireland, and played a major role during merger talks between ATGWU and Amicus to create Unite the Union. Mr Mills was a board member with the Civil Service Appeal Board from 1996 to 2010, and with the Northern Ireland Local Government Superannuation Committee from 2000 to 2010.

Deirdre Fitzpatrick, appointed as an Independent Member to the Board, is a management consultant, and a former Director of Full Circle Management Solutions Ltd. Mrs Fitzpatrick is a member of the NI Consumer Council and also sits on the Audit Committee. Mrs Fitzpatrick is a member of the Board of the Gerry Rogan Initiative Trust (GRIT) Programme and is an approved provider of marketing appraisals for Invest NI’s Corporate Finance and Appraisal Division. Mrs Fitzpatrick also sits on the Belfast City Council’s Retail Forum which provides an opportunity to influence the Council’s strategy for retail support.

Jill Minne, appointed as an Employer Representative, is Director of Organisational Development for Belfast City Council, and is a member of the Council’s senior management team. Ms Minne is a member of the Local Government Joint Reform forum, the body responsible for negotiating all the HR aspects of local government reform, a member of the Northern Ireland Joint Council and chairs the Council’s Joint Consultative and Negotiating Committee. Ms Minne is also a board member and Ambassador for the Women’s Fund NI.

Daire Murphy, appointed as an Employee Representative, practised as a barrister across all areas of law for eight years before joining the Law Centre (NI) as a specialist employment legal adviser in 2003. As a specialist employment legal adviser, Mr Murphy’s work addresses employment relations issues intensively on a daily basis. Mr Murphy is an elected trade union representative, dealing with both organisational and individual issues on behalf of colleagues and is also an accredited CEDR Mediator, trained in developing relationships and constructively challenging assumed positions in order to work through disagreements and disputes. Mr Murphy is a contributing author to a forthcoming legal textbook due to be published by the Law Centre, a comprehensive Employment Rights Guide for Northern Ireland, which aims to be a definitive guide to the law in this jurisdiction.